Bikini Competition Update…the Good and the Bad

Okay, yes its been awhile…like 5 months since my first competition! I’ve been a little “off” since then…I’ll get to that…

So I had a great time at the competition, I placed 5th in my class and I will be competing in several shows this spring.

photo 3Me and my trophy πŸ™‚

However, I will be prepping a little differently. When I prepped for this past one in June I was doing it with a group of about 50 women from a local gym. We were all put on the same diet…no matter what our weight was. I didn’t really need to lose weight, I needed to build muscle and lean out. Needless to say I lost too much weight…like sickly skinny by the end. Β I want to look healthy and strong. I know your supposed to be leaned out for competitions but I was told by many people in the industry that I was too thin come show time and that I would have placed higher if I wasn’t so thin. Now don’t get me wrong I was eating a lot, I was never starving but it just wasn’t the right diet for me. I peaked weeks before the competition. Oh and I lost my boobs! That was devastating lol! I mean there was nothing left to them! Thankfully they are back and better than ever now πŸ™‚

After the competition was over I had a really hard time with depression (still am sometimes) and just felt lost. No one seems to tell you about the post show blues but I now know many people get them. I also didn’t do a good job of dieting back up after the competition so I gained all of my weight back super fast, which wasn’t really a bad thing since I was too thin but it made me feel awful. I was embarrassed that I had been so disciplined for so long and did this competition and then was back where I started so soon after!

My whole system was messed up, I lost my period for several months and my hormones were all out of whack, I was an emotional roller coaster. I’ve never had great skin but the past several months my skin has been broken out soooo bad I barely leave the house…back to the depression. I’m actually having a procedure done next week that will hopefully help clear up my skin. Fingers crossed! I think my body was just put in shock between the strict diet all of a sudden, losing so much weight and then gaining it back quick.

My advice for someone who wants to compete would be to make sure you know what you are getting into both mentally and physically. Honestly its more mental. Β Hire someone to train you that is familiar with these competitions that will give you a tailored diet and workout plan. Everyones body is different. Be prepared for life after competition day. Diet back up!! Be prepared to possibly have the post comp blues…its normal and if you know ahead of time you will know better how to deal with it.

So right now I am working on building muscle on the off season and I have a coach that is tailoring everything for me. I’m excited to see the changes to come and can’t wait for the spring to step on stage again with a new and improved package! πŸ™‚ I now know what not to do and what to expect so I am hopeful for a better experience post show!

Heres a few pics from prep and the Competition…I believe my last post in April I left off with a progress pic from week 4.

~Jackie

1798647_297113710456189_7717479520725187234_nThis pic above is what I wish I brought to the stage…but I lost a lot of muscle and leaned out too much in the next week or so 😦

10298945_299519223548971_6834579208537116647_n

JS-Bonnie-1588 JS-Bonnie-1556 JS-Bonnie-1519

My boobs and butt disappeared!

JS-Bonnie-1506

IMG_4582Me, my mom and my daughter after the stage πŸ™‚

 

Posted on November 11, 2014, in Bikini Competition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. you look great! can definitely relate

Leave a Reply

